Total newbie. Hive inspection. UK, North Yorkshire

Hello all! SO I am a total newbie. I have two hives and I can get in touch with the chap who gave me the bees but he is currently away. So both hives doing well in National beehives. One is a smaller colony? with just the brood box and the super on the top. They havent really left the frames they came on but are starting to fill up the additional brood frames and make some honey in the super. (Forgive me if my terminology is wrong!) Ive inspected today with smoker and they seemed peaceful enough and fairly easy to inspect. Think I have put everything back the way I should - supers,QX, top board etc. A picture would be good if anyone has one…or a good description of the way up things go or the way the frames sit on top of each other.

Second hive - different story. It has two super on it and they are making shed loads of honey. I got the QX off and hung a frame thingy on the side and took the first brood frame out so I had some room. Man its full in there! So many bees. My gloves caused me some difficulty trying to lift them out as slowly and gently as possible. I had seen a YouTube clip that said take them out really slowly and gently but its so busy in there with so many bees its difficult to get a grip of the frame. I saw larvae, eggs, hatching bees so I presume all is good but I could only get to the maybe third frame and they were very angry. Dive bombing me and I just figured that if i kept going it wouldnt be much good. Last time I did an inspection they were the same. This time i thought if I handled them better they would be easier for me but no luck. There seems to be sooo many bees but not enough space! Feel very out of my depth and so half way through inspection I put the hive back together and decided to leave it and seek advice. Thanks.

1 Like

Hi