Reading the bottom board card

Hi all!

I’m new to beekeeping and started this summer roundabout six weeks ago with one flow hive and package bees. I just try to get them fit for the winter that they have a good start next year.

One week ago I put the bottom board card in the upper position to learn about my bees and look for varroa. Ants are blocked out with sticky " socks" round the stands of the hive ( works very well). The card looks like in the photo attached.

I have now three questions:

1. how many bees will be in the hive round about? I started with a package with 1500 bees and a young queen from this year (buckfast F1). Seems they are living now on four to five frames. Breeding is obvious.

2. these little black double strings on the second photo I can’t identify. Don’t find them in my books. Does anyone know what it is?

3. I found four death adult varroa mites on the board (within one week), no young ones. Any reason to worry or treat?

Thanks a lot for your help!

Impossible to say, but why does it matter? If all frames are fully drawn and covered with bees, the colony is OK. If not, you may want to reduce it down to a 5 frame nucleus box over winter. Plus don’t forget to feed when needed.

Wax moth poo.

You can’t tell from looking at the board. The best way is a sugar roll test - Google will tell you how. The University of Minnesota developed the test and has instructions on how to use the results.

I agree. There appears to be only 4 seams of bees, so quite small and the queen will be reducing her lay rate by now. How many frames are drawn?

Thanks for your fast replies, Dawn and Dee,

I was just curious about the development and I thought there might be some standards like “1 drawn frame counts whatsoever amount of bees in Langstroth size”.