Roof comb new package

Hi every I am new to bee keeping. I got my bees 1 week ago and installed the packages. One hive is completely dead and the other hive is buzzing with excitement. On the one that is still alive i have a top feeder with floats half full of sugar water mix. Most of the bees in the hive are up in the roof building comb pretty vigorously. How do I get them down in the hive not in the roof? There is a lot of moisture in the hive also. I did have a makeshift shelter over the hives for about 5 days because of the bad snow storms we had this week. Im thinking my shelter didn’t give the hives enough ventilation.

What sort of feeder are you using? I would try and use one that doesn’t let them up into the roof space, allows them to collect the sugar syrup and makes them build comb on your frames.

Sorry to hear about the loss of the other package.

Adam

2 Likes

Pictures might help understand your plight better. Also if you know the components of the hive describe what’s there and where. Something might not have been put in the right place.

2 Likes

feeders are dadant https://www.dadant.com/catalog/8-frame-equipment/m01453-8-frame-wooden-hive-top-feeder

1 Like

Bottom board then Deep with frames then Wooden top feeder with floats then roof.

1 Like

the picture is of the inside of the flow roof above the feeder

it looks as if the colony is pretty much entirely in the roof? If that’s the case- I would shake them down into the brood box- being careful as the queen is probably in the roof. Then i’d cut out whatever comb they have made in the roof and shake whatever bees are on it down into the brood- and then I would cover the hole in the inner cover so they can’t get back into the roof.

I don’t quite understand how you feeder works- I don’t have any feeeders- but if you can do what I said above and still use that feeder- all good. But if not you may need to use a different type of feeder.