Starting a new hive. Two brood boxes or one?

Hi Everyone,

I am about to start a new hive via a Nuc which has 5 frames. I have a flow Hive 2 and live in Victoria, Australia.

My question is should I only start with one brood box or would it be ok to start with two and give the bees more room to expand their quarters?.

My thinking is that I should start with one and then introduce the second brood box once the bees are more established.

As I am new to beekeeping I figured I would ask the experts first!

Thanks in advance for your time and guidance.

Cheers,

Michael.

I would seek advice from other bee keepers in your area about a single or a double brood is best for your climate. But certainly while you are building up the colony I would definitely opt for a single brood box. Bee like to live in a ‘cramped’ lifestyle and they can better control SHB and wax moth. Only add space to the hive when it is needed and only add the flow Super when the hive is really needing the extra room and space for stores(honey). Introduce the super to early and it can set the hive back if they don’t need it.
Find a local bee group in the Kilmore area for local advice and advice.
Cheers

2 Likes

HI Peter,

Thank you for the advice. I will look into the local bee group.

I appreciate your time and help.

Cheers,

Michael.

2 Likes

As @Peter48 says, start with just one box. Bees have things to deal with that we don’t think about when they are starting a new hive. They have to keep it warm - brood needs a temperature of around 35C to develop. They have to defend it from small hive beetles, robber bees, wasps, hornets, wax moths, ants etc. If you give them too much space, they can get overrun and can’t take care of their young properly.

So, when you put them in the box, how do you know when to add another box or a super? I use 3 simple rules, and they must all be true for me to add a box. Then I know that there are enough bees in the hive to use the new space.