Swapping hives for painting

When I bought the Flow Hive as soon as they came out, I foolishly painted it with marine varnish. Looked great for a few months, but now it is all flaking and peeling compromising the wood.

I need to re paint it.

I now bought another Flow hive form someone that bought one too but never used it and I painted externally with several coats of paint, aired for a few weeks for all VOCs to dissipate.

I’m thinking that I will just swap the hives, then repaint the old one and set that up with a new nuc next spring.

Is there something I should be aware of before I swap the hives? They won’t mind a new hive do they? I guess it will have a different smell, will they be bothered?

I would doubt that the girls would be overly concerned. within minutes the queens pheromones will be whizzing around inside the new home.

3 Likes

That’s what I suspect too, but I thought I’ll ask just in case I’m missing something as I have zero experience with swapping hives like that.

Thank you.

1 Like

I painted a pine hive once with the wrong stuff and moisture started to get into the finger joins.
I transferred the brood frames into a new brood box first and a few months later did the same with the flow super.
The bees are just fine. It’s a good chance to give them a very thorough inspection. In fact, I did a split at the same time.

3 Likes

I filled the finger joins with filler to minimise moisture creep. The lid is really bad though. It was warped out of the box and leaks water badly through the shingles. I had to use No More Gaps caulk to seal the gaps.

1 Like

All my lids are under coated and house painted. The undercoat seals the gaps real well, so I didn’t have a problem with that.
Totally love the cedar hives. Apart from the top of the roof, I just tung oil them. They all look good still. If they start looking a bit dry or dirty, I just wipe a cloth with tung oil over them.
I don’t like the pine much. Too heavy too. Sort of inelegant.

1 Like