Swarm control methods for no increase

G’day fellow Beeks! My name is Blake and I am a second year beekeeper in the Hunter Valley, Australia. :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: To give you guys some background, I have two hives in a double brood box arrangement.

I have a degree in botany and my love of beekeeping stems from the pollination benefits that my girls offer; and as such, I am looking to keep my total number of hives to only two. Most swarm control methods that I have read about involve splitting the hive (which is great and works…it is how I got my second hive after all) but what if no increase is desired? I have been reading about the demaree method, but will it work for hives that are in a double brood box setup?

What management strategies do you all use for a double brood box setup in this scenario? I have been pouring through textbooks and the internet/forums for weeks with no straight answer…

Cheers in advance! :smiley:

Hi Blake, sorry I can’t answer your question regarding double brood box setups.

During springtime it’s only natural that bee colonies will want to build up their population in order to be able to swarm, which is how they reproduce.

In over 33 years of beekeeping I have only found 2 ways to keep my hive numbers from expanding.

The first method is to remove & destroy the brood before the bees start swarm preparations. That method can be beneficial for feeding to chooks, or even used as hachinoko.

The second & most profitable method is to split the colonies, let them make new queens, then sell the nucs.

2 Likes

Thank you so much for your valuable insight Jeff! :smiley:

When you say remove and destroy brood, is this as simple as leaving just one frame of brood in your brood box and replacing all the other frames with fresh frames/foundations for the bees to build on?