Temperatures for using the Bottom Sliding (Ventilation) Board

Hi Everyone,

As mentioned recently, i’m very new to beekeeping. I have a question relating to the thin board that slides in at the bottom of the hive (normally from the rear i believe) that can be used for ventilation purposes.

As we approach winter, at what temperature should i consider pushing this slide all the way in? I’m located on the Mornington Peninsula at Mount Martha, in Victoria (Australia). Also, at what temp should i remove it? Although the days are still warm here at the moment, some of the evenings are getting coolish, ie 14 degrees C. Is this board usually pulled out for the entire Summer period, or do beekeepers slide it in on cooler evenings to help the bees stay warm, and then remove it during the day. On my hive, directly above this removable sliding board is a stainless steel mesh screen.

Any advice that you’re can provide me regarding this bottom sliding board and the temperatures it should be used, would be very much appreciated.

Additionally, I’m really keen to find a mentor within my location who is willing to give me some ‘hands on’ advice/guidance.

Thanks in advance for your time and info.

Regards,

Paul.