Tray appearance during hive inspection

I just inspected my honey super and brood box. Everything appears normal, although I have yet to spot the queen. I pulled out the plastic tray and noticed about 1/8 cup of liquid at the entrance end of the tray and 2-3 very small beetles. Not sure if they are hive beetles or if I should be concerned?
Also, should I clean the tray? Might sound like a dumb question, but I’m very new to this. And if so, how often? See photo…

Thanks!

The water is likely to be rain water. They could be hive beetles that you spotted. I would definitely clean the tray, then maintain a routine of checking & cleaning it once every 2 weeks.

2 Likes

The yellow tray will receive all sorts of detritus falling from the hive…wax, dead bee bits, and hive beetles.

I agree the liquid is most likely rain water. Its been raining a lot in my area (South East coast Australia) and very humid. The oil I have used in the past is olive oil (left over from the kitchen) and it tends to get mouldy as well. I will see if mineral oil stops the mould growth on the tray.
However…clean the tray every two weeks, replace the oil AND keep a record of the number of hive beetles. This counts as an inspection…and knowing the hive beetle catch rate can usually indicate the hive beetle density in the hive. A strong colony and only a few beetles in the tray is nothing to be worried about IMO. regards.

1 Like

I agree Ian & welcome to the forum. I use all solid floors on my hives, plus I don’t have landing pads on the bottom boards. My poor bees have to struggle to get back in the hive without a landing pad. I think that the landing pad contributes to water in the tray. That’s my gut feeling.

They do have a landing pad, a vertical one.

1 Like

Thanks so much. That’s all helpful as I get through this learning curve. We have had lots of rain, and are expected to get more in the next two days.

[quote=“JeffH, post:4, topic:33033”]
landing pad contributes to water
[/quote