What are these stoopid bees doing?

After about 300mm (12 inches) of torrential rain and wind in 24hrs, why on earth would these guys be out hanging off the porch ?
They’re alive as my stung finger can attest.
Cheers
Ron

I wonder if some water got into the hive through the roof. The outside bees could be making room for the bees inside trying to dry the hive out. I know it seems stupid for bees to be hanging outside like drowned rats, there must be a reason for it.

cheers

@RonM Hi Ron, I wouldn’t worry to much, my bees did the same thing only I am in Canberra and the temperature was below 20 degrees C. They were dry and no sign of any deaths by the morning, although we didn’t have 300mm of rain :wink: I am sure someone could tell you more but as I am only a newbie :slight_smile:

Wow Ron! 300mm is huge. I reckon Jeff is on the money with a leak or ridiculous humidity. Can you get something over the hive until the rain stops? Poor old drenched bees hanging out the front!

It’s only a 7 month old hive with a good gabled roof so I’d be surprised if it’s leaking. It’s not the flow roof.
I’ve covered it just in case.

It’s supposed to be raining for another 3 days, another 60 to 120mm. A ridiculous amount of rain for Sydney.
I’ve started bulding my ark.

Thanks for the replies, will let you know what I find if the sun ever comes out again.

Cheers
Ron

I am certainly no expert, but, from the looks of it, maybe they are wicking. Meaning, draining water out of the hive via capillary action. The way they are hanging in a continuous line, it would seem to make sense.

1 Like

That’s a lot of rain, send some over here. :hot_face:
I see that your hives have Flow frames in them however the base doesn’t appear to be the original and am wondering which way the base board slopes?