What kind of bee is this?

My flow hive has been adopted by some wild bees. They definitely make honey!
They’re not particularly calm, but not terribly aggressive. I live in Maui, Hawaii.
I’m hoping someone can help me identify what kind of bees they are from this pic:

Thank you!

Apis mellifera, also known as european honey bees. :blush: Sounds like you had a swarm move in. That photo doesn’t look like a Flow hive, though.

1 Like

She could have painted her landing board :wink:

Thanks! I put six flow frames inside, but already had the box and landing board, etc. The bees didn’t like the reducer I gave them, so they chewed out bigger holes :blush:. I’ve taken that out since.

Can anyone tell me the subspecies? Italian, Caucasian, Carniolan, German, etc?

I am brand new to beekeeping. I set out a hive box (with only 4 frames in it) while waiting for my flow frames to arrive and a swarm took up residence. I added a second super for them as they seemed to be growing quite strong and numerous. Finally I got my flow frames and modified a third box for them, and added it with a queen excluder. I plan to leave the two bottom boxes to them and harvest only the top flow frames. As I mentioned, I live in Hawaii and we generally have flowers of some sort pretty much all year. I have a mixed fruit orchard and wanted their help with maximizing fruit production as well as a bit o’ honey.

I also need some advice about what to do (if anything) with the bottom super that has only 4 frames and a big cavity in the middle which the bees have built out freestyle. The second super has 10 frames and there are 2 regular frames in the third box as well as my 6 flow frames which are the only frames I intend to harvest. Is there any reason to remove the bottom box and replace it with a box containing frames? I figured they’re okay in the wild so why not give them a chance to be creative in one box anyway. But I would appreciate your advice and I have very little experience and knowledge.