What paint/oils to use to protect new cedar Flow hive

Hi I’m new to bee keeping and have just bought a Flow Hive 2. What do other keepers suggest I use to protect the hive? It is made of cedar and I’m unsure which oil to use on it e.g. linseed, tung etc. Would appreciate any suggestions please.

Hi Jan
There’s loads of info here on the forum on hive protection etc. Some down to personal preference.
I’ve recently used Pure Tung Oil / Citrus Turpene in a 50:50 blend, then finished with a coat or two of 100% Tung Oil on my FH2.
The Citrus Turpene initially provides the penetration needed to draw the mix into the wood.
I personally wanted to bring out the natural look of the wood grain with the added protection of the oil.
Both products are bee friendly and bearing in mind you only need to coat the outside of your brood boxes and super.
For the roof I used Safe - Way Premium Wood Stain (beehive safe).
I’ve included a few photos of before and after treatment.
I hope this helps towards your choice and is useful to you as you enjoy building your hive.

:honeybee:

6 Likes

Hello Nick,

Many many thanks for your informative and speedy reply. I found the info most helpful. As a newbie to beekeeping there is so much info to read and absorb. We’ve already had a lot of negative response when we say we are using a Flowhive but we feel we have to move with the times and give these new products and ideas a chance! We shall see if we’ve made the right decision in due course :wink:

3 Likes

What beautiful results, @nickg7!

3 Likes

Hello there @Magpie40 and welcome! I’m excited for you to have your first Flow hive :blush::+1:

Sounds like you’re diving into beekeeping headfirst and I wish you all the best. I did the same a few years ago, and have learned so so much here on this forum - so please stay around and ask as many questions as you need to.