What to do following Swarm

This is my first year bee keeping

I saw some swarm cells Monday when I was doing my inspection and adding my 2nd brood box…today while at work my neighbor said she saw the swarm

What should I do next? When should I do my inspection? What should I look for and do? Will it be an issue now that If I have lost half my colony to a swarm having the 2nd box?

You should have already done an inspection and destroyed any further queen cells or they will swarm again. Add the second brood box and do at least weekly inspections of the hive over Spring and Summer.
Cheers

Leave them alone for 10 days. Upon inspection, there should be a new mated queen and eggs/larva.
From my old old beekeeping mentor, “Never, ever, destroy queen cells unless you are trying to make the hive queenless on purpose.”

2 Likes

Disagree with Chili
I would look in tomorrow (six days) and reduce the queen cells to one open one with a fat larva swimming in royal jelly.
If they are all sealed then choose one on its own in a secure position, being attended by the bees.
If you leave all of them then your bees will swarm again and maybe again

The hive has the greatest chance of getting a stellar queen by leaving them alone. I’d end up killing all the good cells and leaving the weakest.

2 Likes

I do agree with you, leave the queen cells alone and let the colony decide which will be the best for them, it is called natural selection. The selected queen will kill of the wanna bees regardless of the numbers. I see no valid reason to having a bee keeper interfere to that extent. Selecting one queen cell to remain to maturity may mean you end up with no queen.
Regards

But what if the colony is a strong one. What happens then?

The question asked is “What do you do following a swarm?” Dee.
The hive would therefore logically be depleted and not as strong as it had been prior to the swarming. So to keep the question on the subject I have already answered it.
Regards