Almost swarm / Flow Hive configuration question

I am new to Flow Hives, but in my fourth year of beekeeping. I have a Classic Araucaria hive that I ordered and started using in April. Yesterday they thought about swarming, but then ended up staying. I’ve been meaning to post a question about configuration and avoiding crowding, but I realized yesterday that the situation is more urgent than I imagined. Here’s the background:

• I started this year from a package that I got from our local beekeepers guild on April 18. I started with 5 new deep frames, and built up to 8 over the following couple weeks. Things seemed to start out well.

• I put an inside feeder with 1:1 sugar water on top for the first two weeks. In the past I’ve always started from nucs and didn’t always use a feeder, but this was my first time starting from a package so I decided to feed them at the start just to be safe.

• Things seemed to go well the first two weeks, except that they started building comb a couple times inside the feeder. I removed the comb each time I noticed it, and eventually removed the feeder after two weeks.

• At the end of the third week I noticed that they were building big clumps of comb on the bottom of some of the frames, even though the outer frames were not completely drawn out. I removed the extra clumps, noticing that some of the comb had brood in them. At that point I went up to 8 frames, making the brood box full (though not fully drawn out).

• The following week I added the queen excluder and the flow super on top. They didn’t seem to take to it right away, but I’ve had that same experience with traditional supers before. Sometimes it takes time, was my thought. I did see a few bees exploring in the flow super over the next week.