Honeyflow.com | FAQ's |

Bees left hive. Steps to take before adding new hive

Our bees are totally gone. They left some honey in the flow super which I drained mostly. What steps do I need to take before introducing a new colony?

Do a thourough inspection, take pics and post on here. For all your bees to have gone you might have an underlying issue so the inspection and assessment is the best idea I can provide but pictures of frames, comb, inside of hive, floor board will help for more advice.

I lost one of two hives over winter and have cleaned the full hive fully, flamed the wood inside, resealed outside and replaced all the brood frames with new.

Thanks for the quick response. Here are some pictures. I am new to bees and know very little. The frames in the brood box look very dark, but there were only a couple dead bees and a couple roaches. The frames in the flowhive box look normal. Appreciate any feedback. Mostly concerned about how to prepare for new nuc if I can still get one.flowhive 1 flowhive 2 flowhive 3 flowhive 4 flowhive 5 flowhive 6 flowhive 7

As your beginning in bee keeping my advice is to find an experienced bee keeper and have them look thru the hive for any issue to work out why the colony absconded. I don’t know your climate but guessing your coming into Spring and maybe the swarming season but I’m not suspecting the absconding is a result of the weather.
If the hive has a health issue just adding a new nuc colony could lead to you loosing them too.
Cheers

Hi @jjandjoj.

I think general clean up would be a good idea while you have this opportunity.

Remove old comb from frames. It looks quite dark to be useful for another season or two.

Drain honey from flow frames and clean them. Pressure washer is a good help in such situations.

Soak all cleaned frames in bleach solution 1 cup (8oz) of bleach per gallon of water for 5 minutes.