Bees not doing honey on the upper frames

Hi everyone !

I’m a newbie on beekepping, just 3 years of experience with my FlowHive which was my first bee keeping experiment.

I’ve had a Flow Hive for a couple of years in the north east of Spain, in Girona.
I have a brood box and the super hive on top.
The first year, in autum-winter, my colony died. Next spring I added a bee colony again and since then they have been living happily for 2 years now.
I guess I’ve local native bees …

My problem is that the bees have never done much on the upper o super box and flow hive panels. At some point of the year some bees work on the super box by adding propolis in the little gaps of the hexagonal FlowHive cells, as they needed to close them before adding honey to them. But at the end autum came again and nothing really was done on the super box besides some propolisation. (sorry english is not my mother language and I’m not sure if I’m expressing myself correctly).

I’ve some doubts …

• Maybe when my first colony died I should have cleaned the FlowHive panels and super box in some way ?
  • Is it normal that they need to propolize all the FlowHive panels before doing honey on them ?
  • How can I encourage them to do some honey ?
  • What can I do to understand why my bees are not working on the upper super where the FlowHive panels are ?

Now is spring time here, lots of flowers and nice temperatures… Today I’ve seen that some (just a few bees) are on the super body, like inspecting the cells … but still not filling them with nothing …

It’s so frustrating to have been 2 years trying to make a drop of honey and got nothing.
I would appreciate anyone who could give me any hints …

Thanks for your support !! Is there any official FlowHive chat or telephonic customer service where to ask my doubts ?

Eloi

Can you tell us a little bit about what your weather has been the like the last couple of years and what kind of flowering vegetation you have around you?