Trouble populating the 2nd brood box

HI, I’m new to beekeeping this season and installed my nuc in November 2018.

I added a new brood box (on top) of the full one a few weeks ago and I’m noticing that the bees are patrolling around it, but not building out the frame.

I found an earlier post (but now cannot find it) where someone on this forum decided to mix up the frames across the two boxes to spread the bees out. Average temp over next few weeks is between 20 - 35 degrees in Melbourne, Australia so temparature shouldn’t be an issue in our mid Summer.

Just wondering if I’m about to make a stupid amateur mistake?

My other thought was the the boxes and frames are brand new. Maybe they just smell too foreign to the bees?

Thoughts from any experienced beekeepers?

As you started from a nuc in last November I would be really wondering if a second brood box was needed, maybe the lack of interest in the 2nd brood box is because the bees are wondering why you added it too.
Spreading brood out in both boxes with night temps about 20c is something I wouldn’t do with the bee numbers in the colony still having to build up.

As a new beekeeper how did you assess that a 2nd brood box was needed? What percentage of the average of the frames had cells in use?
I fear you may have already made a mistake by over estimating the strength of your colony.
But welcome to the forum where you will find heaps of reading as well as to ask questions of people happy to give you good advice.
Cheers

2 Likes

Thanks Peter,

When inspecting the hive recently all frames were in use, the outer frames had some stored honey. I assumed that meant they were full but maybe I’m under-estimating how long it takes a colony to build up.

I haven’t added the flow super yet either.

The colony doesn’t appear stressed. I might have to do a bit more research.

Thanks

2 Likes