Capped honey finishing in a vertical straight line in flow super?

Hi
I have two frames where bees have capped honey to an exact vertical line on the flow super.
I am thinking that something happened with key closure and opening at last harvest. I checked and they are close. So I am confused??? Should I harvest and reset? I would have thought this is not normal bee practice although I am new to flow hive. This doesn’t happen in a Langstroth.
Thanks
Erin

Hi Erin, like you, I’ve never seen this happen with conventional frames. Apparently this does happen with flow frames. Some of the earlier images of honey in flow frames on this forum showed that happening.

Thanks Jeff

Perhaps then I won’t harvest unnecessarily then and just monitor. Thanks for your reply.
Erin

You’re welcome Erin. I think you’d be able to harvest the honey because the section the bees haven’t touched would be empty of unripe honey. If I was going to be using flow frames, I’d always physically check each frame before harvest. After recent observations re SHBs, because SHBs are in my area, I’d harvest the honey away from the hive.

Thanks for the tip:)

1 Like

Hi Erin that part of the frame is probably not set right so just put the key in the top slot and turn it a few times back and forth across the slot. Any of the cells that were not set right hopefuly will align. All cells already in the correct position won’t move as the top slot is for closing them.
Once the remaning cells are aligned the bees should go for it.
Goodluck

2 Likes

Hi Erin,
I have a few flow hives and this has never happened to me.
It pays to be meticulous with the flow mechanism.
For a start, before putting the flow frames into the super, i open and close the cells of each frame and see it’s all aligned.
After each harvest, again, I close and open the frame several times and wiggle to ensure the key is right at the end.