Cut out and transfer from bucket

Hello. I am brand new to beekeeping. I am a little nervous to transfer them, mainly because I don’t want to mess it up. Can anyone advise how to go about removing them from bucket which is full of comb and putting them into a hive box.

Don’t do it yourself with no pre-existing experience, @Becky13. Cutouts are Beekeeping 201, not 101. Join a local bee club and ask somebody to help you, or call a live bee removal service and tell them the way you would like it done. Many services are willing to cutout the comb and install it for you, but they will have to charge for their time, usually a couple of hundred dollars, or less if it is a really easy job. :blush:

Okay. Thank you. Makes me feel better to know I should get help.

1 Like

Let me just explain a little. Our human-built bee hives have frames of straight comb. This is necessary for inspection of the combs for disease and pests, which is required in many countries, and certainly in all of the US.

When bees build natural comb, they do not always follow straight lines. I have seen spirals, waves, and all kinds of variations. They do what they feel is convenient for the shape they are living inside.

Your bucket is round. I would guess that all of the comb in there is going to be curving. It will need straightening and rubber banding into standard hive frames. That will be messy and destructive. If you work with a skilled beekeeper, it will be less messy and destructive. :blush: If you are concerned about not messing it up, the best thing is to recruit expert help.

You list your location as “Ca”. I don’t know if that means California or Canada. If you are any where near San Diego, CA, I can help you find somebody to rescue your bees. If you are in Canada, somebody else needs to step in. :wink:

I am in California, actually north of San Diego. On the outskirts of hemet/Temecula. That would be great. Would love to learn and have a mentor.