Extracted honey is watery

I think that we pulled the honey too soon. Perhaps it wasn’t ready and not capped?

In any event, is there anything I can do with the honey to make it the right consistency?

1 Like

As a newbie, I probably shouldn’t jump in, but last week I thought my first honey was watery also, so worried for a few days while waiting for a honey moisture content refractometer to arrive ($30 on amazon). It was easy to use and proved that the honey was at 17%, which is fine. It turns out that different nectars make honey of different viscosities.

If it had been too wet, then my next plan was going to be pouring it into a cookie sheet and then put it in a sealed box with some silica gel. This would be too slow and impractical for a commercial bee keeper, but for my couple of pounds of honey, I think it would have done the trick.

1 Like

It is always best to check the cappings before you extract, but if you didn’t, one of the most helpful things to have on hand is a honey refractometer. Make sure you don’t get one for wine or other fluids. Then just test your honey. If it is below 18% water, you are fine. Above that, you can freeze it and use it yourself, or feed it back to the bees. However, it will ferment over time. Speaking of which, you could also make mead with it.

The refractometer I have is not available right now, but you should be able to find something very similar for under $40 in the US:

1 Like

Hello Mary, the consistency (viscosity) of honey can vary depending on the nectar the bees are foraging on at the time. That is not something you can control.