Help to transferring bees from nucleus to flow hive

I’m new to raising bees and will receive a nucleus hive today.

I would be grateful for an expert assistance in transferring the bees to a flow hive.

Please let me know if you can assist me in Lesmurdie (Perth) around 1 pm to 1:30 pm today.

1 Like

Bils,

If you don’t get help …I layed my Nuc on top of my new hive bodies for an hour ( it wasn’t hot that day) then opened the end plugs hole n let the bees adapt to the location. ( get their GPS location !

The next part went pretty smooth n quicker than I though. I set the cardboard Nuc to one side, opened my hive n removed one more frame than my five frame Nuc had. Then removed the Nuc lid slowly n carefully. ( the frames in the Nuc can be stuck/propolis in place so be ready n cautious)…

I took the first wall frame out of my Nuc n gently set it in the new hive. The idea is to set them in the new hive exactly the same direction n order as they are in the Nuc. After that is completed add the extra empty frame carefully. Then I went to both wall frames n gently push any frame gaps leaving what extra gap you have equal at the outside of your outer wall frame.

Not sure what feeder you have … I prefer a topfeeder box most but upside down jars of syrup placed on strips of wood raised off the top frames works great too. HAve a deep or medium super ready to surround the jars ( borrow one if you don’t have one. And old junket one will work okay. The replace your crown board/inner lid then roof.

Your done ! That behind you … Your done ! Wasn’t that fun n easier than you thought ! :wink::+1:

Congrats !

Good luck n happy beekeeping, You’re on your way ! Please do not add the flow-super until your brood box is about 80 to 85% full. Each region n season this is different. Just be watchful but patient.

Cheers,

Gerald

2 Likes