Hive beetles in flow frames

I am a newbie here. I have two brood boxes full and a third that bees were starting to build comb in. I put flow box/frames on last week and last night when I checked the back observation window ( where you actually harvest ) I notice one hive beetle in a cell. This morning it wasn’t there. This evening there are a bunch of them - maybe 2 dozen - and bees looked like they were trying to do something with them. I have beetle traps in next box down. Too hot to go into the boxes this eve I think. I will go into them tomorrow morning to check ( and maybe move?) beetle traps. Should I remove the super flow frame box completely and wait until spring ? I do have a little video I will try to upload. I have a mentor , but she is new to the flow frame so I thought I would ask here as well. Thank you !

1 Like

I believe it is too late for a honey super. I’m in NJ. I stopped using beetle traps last year because they required me to attract beetles. I’ve had no beetle problems this year.

1 Like

Beth,

Beetles are beetles … Flow-frames are just another type of harvest tool. The flow-frame box is just another type of honey super. Your mentor if good should be able to direct you correctly if they are worth their salt regular honey super or Flow. Bees are bees n beetles are beetle… Work with her/him !

Good luck n enjoy,
Gerald

If you have two built out brood boxes and a standard super that is not built out then remove the flow box. It is creating too much space for the bees to defend. Also, where you are you should be preparing the bees for winter, not thinking of robbing them. Keep the flow box for next spring when they have built up and there is a flow on.

Cheers
Rob.

3 Likes

Thanks for the info. I thought maybe I could get a little something from the goldenrod season. But I will wait till spring now. I started using the traps after I saw beetles - they are the kind I put oil in. I have actually watched the bees hers beetles into the trap !