Hive mat on top of flow frames?

Do you think it’s a good idea to place mat on top of flow frames to try and discourage bur comb? I was worried about Bee access as it is already restricted around the back of flow frames I think.

I can see no harm in using a hive mat for this purpose, just make sure there is adequate space around the edges of the mat for ventilation. Something like this:

2 Likes

Cheers thanks Rodderick.

DextersShed I will have to google crown boards, I am new to beekeeping. Thank you for the feed back.

Wouldn’t a hive mat, sitting on the top bars, get solidly propolised on?
Timbo, to add to your misunderstanding,a crown board with holes in is called a feeder board. A crown board with no holes is called a crown board. Don’t worry, one season with bees and you won’t need a dictionary :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Some propolis will be there, but the mat will peel straight off, this method is used quite successfully to prevent comb build up under the lid, some beekeepers will also use a food grade material such as those used for stock feed bags to cover the top of the hive without any gaps and still allow the hive to ventilate and the bees to move throughout the hive. Jerry Dunbar uses this method. If you get a chance to view his videos you’ll see the covers I am referring to.

1 Like