Hive swarmed now my super is empty. Should I remove it?

I am new to beekeeping and happy to join this forum. My new bees adapted well and the colony grew pretty fast throughout the spring. I spotted my queen only once but was pretty happy she was laying since I had a healthy number of capped brood and larvae. Once 80% of the frames were populated I decided to install my super. However, I noticed at least 5 queen cells. At first the colony was pretty busy on the supers, not impressive activity but I could see a good number of bees waxing away. I explored the hive today only to find the super quite empty. I inspected the brood box and still could not find the queen. Some of the queen cells were open and the number of bees seemed a bit lower. I suspect they swarmed without me noticing. I was also surprised at the amount of drones!!! We have a short pollinating season in the north east of the USA and I am puzzled about what to do with the super. Should I take it off? Will it be hard for them to heat and patrol in the winter now that I think a swarming event has decreased my bee numbers? Since I still have queen cells could they swarm again?

Hi and welcome to the forum. Yes, take the super off and store it somewhere dry and protected from pests. And yes, it does sound like your colony has swarmed - and yes, it could swarm again. The large number of drones could be a normal result of the population reaching its peak just prior to queen cells being built, or could be because you have a laying worker - which happens when a hive has been queenless for too long. I think it’s more likely that a new queen is out on mating flights and will soon return and begin to lay, and the drone to worker ratio will go back to normal.