Hoping to begin beekeeping soon!

Hello! I am very new to bees, but I found a deal on hives that I couldn’t resist. I am planning on getting bees either this spring or next spring after I’m done researching how to care for them properly. I can’t wait to get started on this beekeeping adventure! If anybody has any recommendations of where to begin research, I would be very appreciative. This seems like a very kind community!

Emma,

Welcome aboard ! Beekeeping is a interest n amazing hobby. There’s tons of videos n internet info. I like Beekeeping for Dummied as one good read n resource. There’s a lot of other books too.

What turned you on to Beekeeping?! What cheap beehive equipment you get ?! I started with three hives two seasons ago. Having more than one hive give you the ability to
share resourses among the hives if one gets weak or has issues.

Here’s a bees eye view of some of my hives. Also I’d check local city n county codes on Beekeeping as well. You don’t want to get the cart ahead of the horse.

Good luck n enjoy learning,

Gerald

1 Like

While youtube is a good source it’s also full of fools who show off. In my opinion it’s best used when you have a little experience and can sort the wheat from the chaff.
The best thing you can do by far is to join a beekeeping club, get some theory under your belt and shadow a beekeeper from next Spring. Beekeeping clubs in the UK run theory classes in the winter and have a training apiary for the newbies to work on from Springtime. They should also supply a mentor. I don’t know if that happens in The States. By early summer you’ll be ready for that first nuc of bees. Good luck

1 Like

Thank you! I have been reading and watching videos for a while now.