Hot, swarming or?

Newbie here and is this behavior normal for dusk? Sincerely,
Martha from Nashville

3 Likes

Looks like bearding - normal in hot weather :blush:

1 Like

So late? It’s about 78 Degrees out. They will beard at that temp? Interesting and thanks!

1 Like

I’m guessing it was even hotter earlier today where you are, and so it could still be inside the hive (and yours is a lovely dark color too)…anyway, hanging out on the porch at night could be a sign there’s a been a population increase - a good thing!

@Martydallas reported many a late night sighting of his bees bearding - he’s in Texas & maybe he will reply too!

2 Likes

By the way, your stand is interesting - you should post that pic on the Stands thread, and point out how good those giant eye screws are for feet that could sit nicely in ant moats :sunglasses::+1:

1 Like

Thanks! I made the stand with leveling and ants in mind. I was worried that my cinder blocks would settle. I also wanted to have the correct degrees for when I put on my super. So I put a board under the eyelits to easily remove when extracting honey.

2 Likes

Yes - didn’t see that at first, but so easy to level too! Genius, girl :wink:

1 Like

Probably just warm and swarm preparations. Check for swarm cells and even cups along the bottom of the frames, especially the bottoms of the frames in that second box. Mine had over dozen cups so I split them.

4 Likes

The top box has food in it. I will look for a queen cell and move the bottom corrugated down one level for better air circulation.

1 Like

Make sure that you shake the bees off the frames when you inspect - they love to cluster on and hide queen cells. If they intend to swarm, there should be several cells with royal jelly and larvae, or capped, depending on when you last inspected. :blush:

3 Likes