How close can I ride a mower to my flow hive

Hello, newbie here. How close can I ride my mower to my flow hive without bothering the bees and without making them want to sting me?

1 Like

Depends on the bees. My current Italian bees are incredibly docile, and our gardeners can use leaf blowers right next to hive with no problems. However, I have had colonies which would attack me mowing 40 feet away. They were much better after requeening, but you may not wish to do that if you have a nice locally-bred queen. If you want to avoid problems, you might consider putting the hives on gravel or pavers, or even put a 6 foot flyover barrier (hedge, climbing plants on a trellis, or insect screen attached to a wire mesh fence) around them to force to fly upwards when they depart the hive. This can help reduce aggro considerably:

1 Like

I have a “bug baffler” veil that fits in my back pocket. As long as I have a veil handy, I’m not against mowing as close as I can get without bumping the hives… but you might prefer to wear a veil the first time and see what kind of reaction you get. Of course the grass needs to be throw AWAY from the entrances…

3 Likes

I mow right past mine with the edge of the mower deck within 100mm with no protection. Sometimes they bump into me because I’m in their flight path. I have no trouble.

1 Like

I have used a mower and lawn trimmer very near my hives and to date the bees have not cared at all.

1 Like

My bees are not bothered by the either using a trimmer, or petrol mower. but I do take precaution and wear the FlowHive hat just in case.

1 Like

Thanks everyone for the responses, I can’t wait to get my bee family.

I’ve heard bees not liking loud noises near their hive but I’ve used a chainsaw within 2 meters of the hive with no problems.
As mentioned earlier it must depend on the bees. I’m thinking it’s more the vibration from the ground than the noise. Of course the time and weather would also have an effect on the bees.