How often can I open the observation windows?

Hi Everyone, I’m new to bee keeping with a flow hive 2 and we recently added the flow super. Just wondering how often it’s OK to open up the observation windows? I’m worried I’m looking in too much (1 -2 times per day) and upsetting the bees. Thank you!

1 Like

I think you can open the observation window as often as you like. I’m sure that doesn’t upset the bees. It’s great to sit & watch the bees going about their business.

2 Likes

Thanks Jeff, thats good news. I love watching them, they’re being a bit slow to take to the super as well so it’s good for keeping tabs on them in between inspections

2 Likes

Even better than watching an open fire :slight_smile:

1 Like

Mine took for ever too. Like with any plastic foundation, coating or rubbing some burr comb will help a lot.

1 Like

I only bought the Flow hive for the entertainment value of watching the bees through the observation window. Ease of honey extraction is just an added bonus in my opinion : )

My daughter just loves checking them out through the window several times a day.

I think there should be one demerit point for each time a beekeeper walks past a flow hive and not check the observation window. :policeman:

4 Likes

Look as often as you like, your not going to stress the bees at all in doing that. 45 years ago my mentor told me that lifting the roof off for a quick look sets a colony back 4 hours till they calm down again.
Thank goodness that Flow hive thought of a window but don’t use it as a way of assessing if there is frames ready to extract, Physically looking at both sides of a frame is the only way to know.
Cheers

1 Like

Ah these replies are all great! So happy I can spy on them a few times a day, it’s such a joy