Installing a nuc in a community garden

I’m going to be installing a nuc this Saturday in my Flow hive with probably 10-30 observers. How should I keep them safe?

These are the ideas I’ve come up with, and I’d love your feedback and suggestions

1. Keep them a certain distance away from the hive
  2. Construct a mesh fence around the hive, forcing the bees to go up and over the mesh while allowing people to see in. Imagine this with the top cut out to allow the bees to escape.
  3. Give everyone a cheap mask

We installed a nucleus in a Community Garden last weekend, so I have some personal experience of this. Generally, I would discourage having an audience, unless you are very experienced, and extremely confident of the demeanor of the bees you are installing. It is just inviting potential problems. However, let’s say that you want to go ahead anyway.

Unless they are experienced or fully suited up, I would suggest at least 20 feet away. Also tell them not to swat! They usually will not get stung if they don’t swat. Bees may land on them and explore, but they usually won’t sting. Tell people to wear light colored clothing (including sock color etc) to minimize issues. New nucs will have a lot of bees orientating and also they just seem to be curious about the surroundings for at least a few days, so spectators can expect to have bees landing on them.

Looks decent. We built a vinyl galvanized wire mesh fence with garage door insect screen attached to it to enclose our apiary. I don’t have a good photo right now, I will have to pester my hubby for one later. It is 6 feet tall (local reg requirement), and 10 x 10’ around. We can grow plants up the mesh in due course. When we installed the bees though, there were thousands outside the mesh, orientating. They spent a good hour bumping into the mesh before they got the message and worked out how to get home again.