Jellybush, Manuka or Crystallised Honey in the Flow™ Hive

Hi all, I am very new to bee keeping and super excited to test out this flowhive when it arrives in a good few months time. I have been told by seasoned bee keepers that the system won’t work with manuka. What are people’s thoughts, could the flowhive frame honey be heated somehow to get it flowing during the manuka period?

1 Like

what’s so special about Manuka honey to stop it flowing? Isn’t it just honey from particular trees?

Manuka Honey is a thicker jelly honey from my understanding.

Hi @Michael,
I know Cedar and Stu have done some tests with Jellybush honey. This is similar to the New Zealand Manuka honey. The test they did was with about a 50/50 mix of ordinary honey and jellybush. On this test opening/closing the Flow mechanism almost all the honey would flow out. So nobody is sure yet how it will go with 100% Manuka honey.

I look forward to hearing from people who use it with Pure Manuka honey.

Hi Jake, thanks for your reply. I look forward to trying it with Manuka when I get the chance this season. Hopefully it goes great,

1 Like

Hi all I’m from england, I’ll be experimenting with oil seed rape honey which sets solid in comb as we’ll.

We will be the first using these frames! basically it was a gamble from the start But I’m still looking forward to it. I’ll be one of the few beekeepers with honey on tap :).

Plus you will get a lot of experienced beekeepers which will not want to change there methods.

Manuka honey is problematic to say the least at the extraction end of things. It is thixopropic in nature and needs to be “broken” in order to flow from the frames in an extractor. The jelly nature of Manuka honey means a lot more work at the extraction end of the game. Heating manuka does very little to helping it flow as it is jellyish, not liquid. I live in an area where we get good manuka and clover. I personally will not consider manuka as an option for the flow system.

3 Likes