Linseed vs Tung on a Flow Hive 2 Araucaria?

Hi,

Let me start by saying total noob here …so apologies if this is a pedantic question! We’re the proud new owners of a Flow Hive 2 in Araucaria and live in Phoenix Arizona. We love the natural wood grain and don’t want to cover our hive in primer / paint. We’re considering either boiled linseed oil or tung oil. We realize neither is as durable as a primer / paint combination …but we’d like to retain the visibility of the hive’s wood …and cover it in something less toxic than primer / paint. Given that, would you recommend boiled linseed or tung oil? We’re leaning towards boiled linseed oil (cures faster than tung and requires less coats), but I can’t find much about it’s use when I search this forum. Any advise would be appreciated!

BTW …I do see the following article:

https://www.honeyflow.com/faqs/all/what-paint-or-varnish-is-safe-to-coat-my-flow-hive-with/p/152#a1

that includes “We recommend painting Araucaria hives and all roofs with at least two coats of good quality exterior paint for the longest and most effective protection.”

I appreciate the best practice recommendation from the Flow Team, but practically speaking …for those that want to use natural finishes with pine …what’s your recommendation?

Thank you,
Clint

1 Like

Hello there,

Neither!

personally I 100% recommend that at the least you paint the roof and base. they cop the weather and won’t hold up well with oil only. I also recommend you paint the hive body- but you seem keen not too. It may be impossible but your best option for a natural finish is to have the hive hot wax dipped. I have two araucaria hives wax dipped and they are standing up well. It is nothing liek treating with oil as the hot wax 100% penetrates the wood- and also drives out water replacing it with wax. the dipping is done over 100 C temps- meaning the water inside the wood boils - turns to steam and is driven from the wood.