Tung oil ok on araucaria

Beginner here. Trying to get everything ready for spring here in TN before I put my hive outside. Wanted to know if anybody else has used Tung oil on araucaria, and would it be ok on the roof? Also, since I live in TN around Cleveland, it seems to rain a lot. Would it be a bad idea to build a small covering for the hive? Like have four post set a foot away from the hive and have a piece of a PVC roof panel mounted slanted on top?

Hi Xaver,

There should have been some instructions in your manual for painting or oiling your Flow Hive. Did you receive your manual? If you can’t find your manual we have them available online here:
https://www.honeyflow.com/resources/starting-with-flow/flow-hive-manual-assembly/p/142

Tung oil can be used on the cedar, but a waterproof paint or sealer is recommended on the Araucaria. For the roof, it is especially important to use a couple of thick coats of waterproof paint or sealer to fill in the ridges and make sure no rain gets into your hive.

Here is the detailed faq:
https://www.honeyflow.com/faqs/all/what-paint-or-varnish-is-safe-to-coat-my-flow-hive-with/p/152

I think having a shelter over your hive would be beneficial for preventing too much rain getting to your hive and also keeping your hive cool in summer.

Keeping the Flow Hive cool in summer and waterproofing the Flow Hives is discussed a bit on the forum.
You can do a search up in the top right-hand corner of the page with some keywords and you will see a range of related topics :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thank you Faroe. I guess I should have been more specific with my question. I wanted to know why it is recommended to put Tung oil on the cedar but not the Araucaria? I like the way wood looks, I would like to not paint over it if I don’t have to. I found the manual last night, it was in one of the other boxes. I will at least paint my roof since that seems to be a big issue. Thank you for the link!