Looking for help and advice

Hi All, I’m totally new to bee keeping.
Received my new FlowHive 4 weeks ago, very pleased with how it all went together.
It is all painted up and 2 weeks ago I installed my 1st Nuc
4 frames with plenty bees installed in the brood hive with 4 empty frames.
I have left off the Flowhive .
My question is, should I now, after 2 weeks, do an inspection of the frames ?
Or should i leave it for a few more weeks ?
The bees have been quite busy, we still have a few trees, large bushes and bottle brush bushes still in flower and the bees are buzzing around them all day
I live in Wanneroo and if any experienced bee keepers in the area I would really appreciate a visit and give me any tips on my set up and if the right time, inspect the brood hive frames.
I think this is a great forum and have spent many hrs reading all the comments.
Look forward to hearing from others.

3 Likes

Welcome @George_Slieker , sounds like you are off to a good start.

I’d take advantage of the warmer weather to get some inspection experience in while you can, but noting that each inspection will set the hive back a few days. A new nuc is also easy to handle so building confidence at an early stage is good.

There is a Perth thread here, so may be worth a shout out for help:

Also, if you’re on Facebook, there is Perth Bee Community:

Cheers,
Fred

3 Likes

I would wait till the colony has been settled for three weeks after installing them so that there is all the stages of brood so that the bees have ‘bonded’ to the hive so they don’t even think about absconding.
Don’t add the Flow Super till the brood box is bursting with bees, there is no set time but anywhere from about 6 weeks to next Spring depending on nectar and the the bee numbers in the hive.