Looking for opinions, I’m a newbie!

Hi, wanted to get some opinions on how well my brood is doing. Brood box has been settled for about a month and a half and this is the result. Are my bees doing ok?? Thanks Jonny

1 Like

I’m not seeing a lot of bees but they will be down on the sides of the frames and closer to the inner frames. Doing regular inspection in the warmer part of the day and you should see an increase in bee numbers. But it is already getting to cool go hunting for the queen or expose the brood to the cold air temps… You should only have a brood box with no super so the hive can build up quicker and keep warmer till after winter. Hope you enjoy the forum, welcome. Cheers

Welcome to the Flow forum.

Very difficult to say unless you lift out some of the frames and photograph the honey comb. For example:

1. I can’t tell how many bees you have in that box
  2. I can’t tell how much comb they have drawn on each frame
  3. I can’t tell how much honey they have
  4. I can’t tell how much pollen they have
  5. I can’t tell how much brood they are making, and whether you have a laying queen.

If you can take a few more photos of the actual frame faces, we can do a much better job of helping you. When you do an inspection, it is good to have a list of questions that you want to answer. You could start with those 5 above, and then add a reminder to check for pests (wax moths and small hive beetles) and signs of disease such as chalkbrood, AFB etc. :blush:

2 Likes

Jonny,

Hmm :thinking: !! I’m not familiar with your region at all ( I’m in the Northern Hemisphere near Seattle) but except when I had snow on the hives I use to take quick peeks. I always saw a cluster of bees (usually center frames) even on top .