Moving hive from tree to brood box

I live in Perth, Western Australia. I have a new flow hive. there is a hive that have made a home 15 m up a date palm in amongst the old boots of the palm fronds. I was planning on relocating the hive with as much of the honey comb into the bottom box of my flow hive and leave it suspended at the same height as the current hive whilst they accommodate to the new hive and then gradually lower it down to ground level. I am new to bee keeping but have some friends who keep bees. My question is should i wait until spring to do this so there is more pollen for the bees to make their wax combs. When i do move it should i try to cut up the comb into vertical strips to put into the langstroth frames.

The weather is fairly mild here but starts to cool down in June. There are still quite a few flowering plants around at the moment.

Thanks for any tips

2 Likes

So I don’t get my first bees for another week myself, so I’m no expert, but what you describe seems like a varsity move and to be avoided by a new beekeeper.

1 Like

Hiya Justin welcome to the forum.
15m is quite a way up! How do you plan to get up there? Unless you can do it safely as Lialos says its possibly not a great idea.
That said, although it’s currently mild I’d be surprised if we’ve seen the last of the warm weather and the queen still laying so I would not wait until spring.
Is the comb in the open?

1 Like

I would do it straight away, if the bees have comb in the open, they will struggle to keep the brood warm during the winter.

Thanks for the replies. I’m using a crane and man cage to get up the tree so the height isn’t a problem. I get one to come once a year . I’m not sure if the queen is in the open as I can’t get up there yet. i have to get rid of the hive from the tree or pruning it will be a real hassle and i need a hive so sort of made sense to combine the two (but yes it sounds a bit crazy).