New beekeeper needs advice

I am brand new to beekeeping and have all brand new equipment. I have a question that may seem silly. I have a deep brood box that also contains a frame feeder which takes up 2 frames. I was told by the person I bought the bees from, to add a second brood box when the first was 80 percent filled with drawn comb. My question is, when I add the second brood box. Do I move the frame feeder up from the first bottom box to the top box and then replace the space where the frame feeder used to be with two new frames? If i do that, then technically with adding two new frames to the bottom, I will be less that 80 percent full.

Welcome @briank to the forum. Your question is not silly, its a good one. The inside feeder is really only needed when your bees arenā€™t able to forage on their own in a period of time called a Darth AND they donā€™t have adequate stores of honey/pollen inside the hive. Typically a new hive installation (Nuc) of a few frames is the right time to feed, in early spring and late fall going into winter. The feeder you mention is for wet feed (sugar and water mixture ratio varies depending on time of year) to optimize nutrition in the hive. In your example, if your bees have built out the other frames in the first brood box almost full then you should pull the inside feeder out and replace with two new frames and let them work on that-- once you see them filled with mostly comb then you should add your second box. If the second box is your honey super, then you want to place your queen excluder in between the two boxes to prevent the queen from laying in the Flow Hive honey super. If you are adding an additional brood box so you would have 2 brood boxes then you donā€™t add the queen excluder in between-- that is only for preventing the queen from entering the box where you want to collect honey. Make sense?

1 Like