New hive, new nuc, ...problem debris?

Hello everyone!

I’m brand new to beekeeping. I have a new flow hive 2 and installed my first nuc 48 hours ago. Today I inspected the tray and found a variety of debris types.

Can anyone identify these larger dark pieces? What about the fuzzy white bits? Is this a fungus that I should be concerned about?

Thanks much!
Scott

1 Like

Hi Scott, welcome to the Flow forum!

What you have there is chalkbrood, which usually happens as a result of chilled brood, but there are other considerations. It is common across the world, and often happens when an inspection has been performed in cold or rainy weather, but not always. Sometimes the queen carries the chalkbrood spores, and then it can only be dealt with by requeening.

In your case, I would keep the entrance small, keep the hive to one brood box, and close the rear ventilation. The bees need to keep the hive warm, and if you open it up, they cannot fan efficiently to move moist air out, plus heat the hive. Sort of like leaving the windows open, with your heating on during a cold day. Or leaving the windows open on a hot day, while running the air-conditioning. Doesn’t work very well!

This may not be your fault. It could well be mishandling by the nucleus provider before you collected, depending on timing of your collection and the interval before you took the photos, although it is hard to be exact in this kind of situation. I would let them know that 2 days after installation, you are seeing this. If they are honorable and the hive doesn’t recover, they should offer you a replacement or refund.

If you keep the hive warm and strong, don’t inspect too often (no more than once per week) and make sure that they are well-fed, they are more likely than not to recover from this.