Newbie, Have some questions

Hey Everyone,

So, I’ve been wanting to get into beekeeping for a little while now. I spent a long time doing research on the best method for a complete beginner for their first hive. I really like the idea of the Flow product because of how much easier on the bees (and keeper) the system is. I live in New England, and plan to get my nuc April 10th. My question is two fold:

1. For a 5 frame nuc, will one brood box and one super (the Flow Hive Classic) be enough, or should I look at adding more supers and brood boxes? What would the preferred setup for a brand new hobbyist?

2. I have been reading a looootttttt (just to over emphasize the growing amount of conflicting info) of different ideas around pest control and treatments. The treamentless hive proponents feel that the bees will naturally select, and evolve a better tolerance against mites without treatment. Where the treatment proponents lay out all the complications that come from a mite infestation. Was just curious if anyone in the New England area has any experience with either, and what the recommend?

Thanks everyone in advanced for your contributions.

Regards,
Vincent

Hello Vincent,

Welcome to the Forum!

We have members in New England, so you will get some good answers here, but you may also want to join a local beekeeping club. Don’t tell them you are getting a Flow hive - there is hostility to it from the traditionalists. Just say you want to keep an 8-frame Langstroth hive, which is what the Flow hive really is.