Newy NSW newbie, quick question please?

Hi Guys, I’m a brand newbie, anxious but excited!!
I have my Flow Hive ready to go, and had been doing my research into packaged bees vs local swarm, when a local friend of a friend offered me 8x established frames to drop straight into my Flow Hive Brood Box?
He initially wanted me to take his entire box, which isn’t what I want after 3x coats of varnish on my beautiful new Flow Hive, but he assures me his frames will fit perfectly into my new box?
This idea kinda appeals to me, as the task of trying to keep the comb straight is already keeping me awake at night, but I really need to know how successful this will be?
I’d like to stay on the right side of this friend of a friend, as he’s a 70 yr old who has had bees forever and has already said I can chew his ear, BUT he’s also a Flow Hive sceptic, so it’s super important to me that this all happens easy…
TIA

3 Likes

You are on a winner with an already fully established hive. As long as they are deep frames you’ll be right to go. Personally I would take all the wooden ware, sit it were your hive will be for a week or two, then transfer into your woodenware. This will then give you a spare brood box when you need to do swarm management. The benefits of getting a fully established hive is they’ll start to fill a super when the flow starts rather than waiting for a Nuc to establish.

Good luck with what ever you do.

Adam

6 Likes

I reckon this bloke sounds to me like he is well worth involving in the process. He’ll probably end up being really fascinated with the Flow super and I imagine would have a wealth of knowledge for you to learn from.

6 Likes

Thanks, Adam - I hadn’t thought of that!! I suppose, I could just keep them in the box they’re in for the moment, and wait til I’m confident to transfer them over myself? There really is no reason why I have to have them in the new box straight away…

2 Likes