Quality Very Bad - Really Not Happy with the 'Flow' Experience

I used to be quite active on the Flow Forums. I was an early supporter and very excited about getting my 2 Full Flow Hives. I was patient when many folks were upset about the slow delivery. I am very familiar with startups and how sometimes things happen that are not planned. I get all that, but my patience has ended.
I finally received my hives at the end of January. I put them together this weekend. I’m comfortable putting things together. I’m an engineer and have woodworking/machining experience, so this is not user error. The wood parts came from Lancaster, PA, the heart of the Amish country, four hours from where I live. The construction was beyond shoddy and unfinished. The millwork was hastily done, forcing me to trim/shim/fit most of the joints with a chisel. The cedar itself was low grade and heavily knotted (the vendor made a few extra bucks at this customer’s cost). As expected, the knotty wood split when I drove the screws in the panels forcing me to glue and clamp many times. As I gently nailed the frame parts together, many of those split…more wood glue and clamping. Of course, like many others I am still waiting for the flow parts. Wouldn’t it have been nice to expect a complete hive when it arrives? The whole end to end experience has left me cold.

5 Likes