Question on brand new nuc

Hi All
I would really appreciate some of your knowledge. I’m brand new to beekeepkng. Just got a nuc - it has 3 frames of nice brood and a frame of honey. The frames are foundationless. I waited one week after install and went in to make sure the comb wasn’t getting messy and to see if they were drawing out new frames. Since that was my goal, I didn’t pull out any of the brood frames to disturb them as little as possible. I have plastic foundation in the empty frames, as I didn’t want to take on foundationless at this time. On inspection, there was no messy comb and absolutely no sign of any new comb being drawn or movement to new frames. I wasn’t able to get wax In time, but am planning to wax all the plastic as soon as it arrives. I also didn’t feed them and they seem to be bringing in a lot of pollen. The three frames seem pretty full of bees (but I didn’t pull them out). I’ve also seen daily orientation flights. so my questions are: how quickly would they normally draw out frames? Should I be urgently getting that wax on the plastic frames even if that means going back into the hive soon?

1 Like

i would of waxed up the plastic foundation for them to take to it quicker.

also feeding them is a really good idea to help them boost numbers and draw comb as is take a lot of honey to make wax.

i got caught out thinking they are bringing in heaps of pollen so must be lots of nectar. that isnt airways the case :slightly_smiling_face:

it definitely takes time. i wanted to see results within weeks but you have to be patient on this fun journey. I’m sure others will add. i saw you are in Hawaii so i have no idea of what’s going on with bees in the area and how active they should be :grinning: