Brood inspection

Hi There,

This is my first flow hive and I am new to beekeeping. I added my Nuc last Friday and I am planning on doing my first inspection this weekend I didn’t spot the queen but there was a lot of larva, is there anything I should be Specifically specifically looking for.

Thank you
Michael

1 Like

Welcome to the forum Michael, there is a lot of reading here and lots of nice folks to give you advise and tips as your learning and trying to figure out what your seeing.
As with lots in bee keeping advise and opinions can differ and it doesn’t mean one is right and another is wrong. Bees are adaptable insects and fairly forgiving of our mistakes.
My advice is to leave the nuc for two weeks undisturbed. Give them time to settle down and learn their new location. Give the colony time to get down to caring for brood.
After two weeks they will be calmer and might be ready to be moved into a full sized brood box hive.
A common mistake by beginners is to put a super on far to early and that can actually cause issues. Only add a super when 80% of the cells on all the frames has either brood, nectar, pollen or capped honey and the frames are really covered with bees. They need high density living.
Some folks will advise feeding a nuc a 1:2 sugar water syrup, When I do a split I give then syrup for a few weeks to stimulate wax production so that they can build out the new frames easier and faster.
Cheers

2 Likes

Hi Peter,

Thanks for taking the time out to send the information, I greatly appreciate it. I did put the Nuc in my 10 frame brood box with the cover last week Friday.

I have 5 frames with bees honey, nectar and some capped brood along with uncapped larva. When I pick the bees up they suggested that I feed them a one to one sugar water mixture which I have been doing so since I put the bees into the brood box.