Same area so therefore same bee variety?

Hi,

I’m a newbie (in Sweden) and confused about what bees to populate my hive with.

I’ve found a neighbouring beekeeper with topbar hives some 500m from where my hive is to be situated. My main concern is not to do anything that may adversely effect affect beekeepers in my area. My ‘neighbour’ has Buckfast bees.

So my question is should I get the same variety of bee as my neighbour?

I also spoke to another beekeeper who lives 30km from here who has a completely different type of bee and was surprised about the Buckfasts. They all have the same type (not Buckfast) in their beekeeping area and fraternity and don’t want another variety in their vicinity. It is also possibility I could get a package of bees from this beekeeper.

Is there anything that should be considered if I do have a different variety?

Thanks

I really hope your neighbors don’t honestly think that there are a multitude of different varieties and “mutts” living around them in the wild… Unless he brings in pure-bred buckfast every year or every other year likely he is not housing true buckfasts either.

bees will only fly about 5 km in search of nectar and pollen so your neighbors are 30km away will have no impact on your hives and visa versa. biological diversity is a good thing, and if you can I would even suggest trying to keep local bees instead of buying them. They are usually much more suited to survive your climate and winters.

Don’t make enemies but ultimately do what is best for you and your philosophy of beekeeping.

2 Likes

Even that is an oxymoron… Buckfasts were a hybrid from the start, from what I understand. Of course, by the time you get to 50 generations of inbreeding, you maybe almost pure-bred. :wink:

1 Like

Whilst it’s true that foraging bees typically travel up to 5km, they are not the issue, are they?

It’s the drones that mate with queens in the vicinity that will introduce possibly unwanted new genes.