Some Help Please ......what is in my honey?

Hello fellow bee keepers, I am fairly new to bee keeping, live in Melbourne Australia and have just gone through my first winter. After doing some research I rightly or wrongly decided to keep my flow frame on the hive over winter. Today I completed my first inspection post winter and found a big black bug bigger than a match head in the hive beetle trap (plus a load of yuk in there as well!) and my honey when looking at it via the end of the flow frame has loads of white dots. I don’t know if this is honey crystallisation due to the current temperatures or if it is eggs from the beetle. I have uploaded some photos hopefully they help. Does anyone know what this is in the honey and if I need to treat my hive? thanks HelenIMG_2173 IMG_2169 IMG_2174

1 Like

Beetles don’t lay in honey, it would kill the eggs.

It could be crystallising or maybe fermenting?

Most likely crystallization from frames being left on over winter. I would lift the frames out to inspect the capped surface, and if they are 90% capped, harvest them ASAP so that the whole crop doesn’t crystallize. The bees will hopefully clean the crystals out once you have drained the frames. If the whole crop crystallizes, you will not be able to harvest it. :astonished:

1 Like

Hi, thanks for the reply its good to know its not eggs, it was scaring me that my hive was inundated.

Thanks for the reply, do that the next warm days. The bees have stripped some of the flow frames and they are super clean so hopefully they clean it and I don’t have to!

1 Like

I agree with Dawn in that the honey is likely crystallizing in the frames from the cold Winter months. The ‘big black bug bigger than a match head’ could be a SHB. A lot of ‘crud’ at the top of the SHB traps and that will reduce their effectiveness.
Extract the frames ASAP and I would feed that back to the hive. But be cautious as forcing the frame open could cause it to fail where you enter the key to turn it.