What do you use in your pest management tray?

Welcome to another great year on the Flow Forum everyone!

Late last year in the office we experimented with putting water and a tsp of detergent in the pest management tray. This option, if successful, was thought to be a cheaper and more readily available alternative to oil.

We found that it worked well at killing the pests but the water evaporated quite quickly, within a week or so (we’re located in a subtropical climate, in Summer).

Another alternative the customer support team received recently from a customer is 2L of water with 100ml paraffin oil, which is believed to work well too.

What do you use, what have you found that works best for you and what are your thoughts on the above?

I save my old used cooking oil and repurpose it. Clean it out 3 times a year. Very little effort.

I’m no rocket scientist but evaporating detergent would worry me as I use it to control wasps late summer (uk) and it’s pretty lethal and what I’ve seen used to exterminate diseased or aggressive hives.

Not sure if there would be enough in any vapour to have a detrimental effect but like I mentioned I’d just worry.

Hi HH, “to exterminate diseased or “aggressive” hives”. We all know on this forum that there’s no need to exterminate aggressive hives.

I’m using vegetable oil in my flow hive 2 tray. I currently have a chalkbrood outbreak and the mummies seem to be dropping through the bottom screen and getting caught in the oil nicely.

Does anyone know if oil contains or kills the fungus spores, or is there anything else I can add?

Also I’m cleaning the tray with bleach before replacing, is this OK or would disinfectant or something else be better ?

1 Like

No it won’t

That should be fine, but chalk brood is a bigger problem than disinfecting.

Agreed. Just something I’ve saw online and detergent was used. Pretty drastic full Hive exterminated in seconds.

I’ll try and find the video sure it was on YouTube.

3 Likes