City Bees in San Francisco

Hi,

I have been keeping bees (part time) with my Father for the last 7 years or so. I have not had a hive in San Francisco because frankly dealing with extraction in our small handkerchief back garden was more than I could face. Even storing the extractor or borrowing my Father’s from Sacramento was just toooooooo sticky a mess to deal with.

When my daughter stumbled onto the campaign she knew I would want one and sent me the link. I ordered the next day and I am so happy that I will have a hive of my own hive, finally, in my own back yard!

I am looking forward to Meyer Lemon honey twice a year and Victoria box honey as well.

Sara

1 Like

I may wind up with an empty super above the flow frames for comb honey. I love that stuff and it makes such nice gifts! But I hope to never have to touch an extractor!

Hi Sara!! We’re in Bernal Heights and would so love to hear your opinion on a few things in our hive (such as, do we or do we not have a queen!!!) …do you make house calls? maybe we can entice you to come visit with fresh eggs from our backyard hens… we also have a hot tub and a trampoline… I’m just sayin! :heart_eyes:

You have a queen ; -)

I am not an ub er experienced beek. I’ve been helping my dad off and on for around 8 years now, so this is my first all ‘mine’ hive. That said, I feel plenty confident saying that if you have a bee hive with bees coming in and out the front door you have an excellent chance of having a Queen, even if she seems like she has a cloak of invisibility. Queens are stealthy and I have often had a hard time in the past spotting the little witches.

Most hives have a queen or there wouldn’t be bees in the hive, and most new bee keepers fret about if they have one and where she is and how she is doing. You are in good company!