Accidentally moved hive

Hello everyone,

I’m new to beekeeping and have been lurking around here for a while. I’m enjoying the conversations. I searched for this question and didn’t find it. If someone has an existing link please share.

Yesterday I went to inspect my hive, I tried to remove the top brood box but instead both the top and bottom brood boxes moved several inches sideways, leaving an opening. I managed to move it back so that the is hanging 1 - 2 inches off the back of the bottom board, essentially creating two entrances. I also sustained several stings when I did this, the ladies were very upset by me moving their home, obviously. I stopped trying to fix the problem I created and retreated in the house until they calmed down.

Should I be concerned by there being two entrances, one in front and one in the back? The girls are protecting both entrances. It’s been in the high 80s, low 90s here, if that helps.

Thank you all for your help in advance.

Just suit up, get your smoker and shift it back, then (if they are not too upset) continue with your inspection. I don’t think you want two entrances.

Good luck and I hope you enjoy beekeeping!

1 Like

Thank you Sting - how long do you think I have to fix the problem? My suit comes on Monday. I have a smoker. Let’s just say I rescued this hive and am learning the hard way. :wink:

Hello, As Sting said. Get the old smoker smoking n get your hive tool (s) ready. Take your time n slowly move it back to the original way. Best not to have front n back access. Also too much entrance for the girls to guard n protect.

Trust me … If that’s the worst thing to happen your just darn lucky. It’s just a learning curve n not big deal because your getting it Back Right !

Have a great weekend !
Gerald

working on making a top “quilt” to help reduceoisture during our Seattle wet juicy winters.

Time to take a concrete pill and get that hive back on its base. Give it a good smoke and just do it.

Cheers
Rob.