Africanised Bees and the Flow hive

Good Day Guys,
Does anyone here have experience with Africanised bees and the Flow Hive? This is the dominant species in Trinidad and we have been having challenges regarding production.

I am brand new to the game and I am trying to work as smart as I can.
JUST came off a one week training session and I am VERY excited to get started.

Thanks in advance.

Roger

Several of us, especially in Texas, have encountered Africanized bees in our hives. You should read the thread “Do I have a Hot hive?” on this forum. In his response, a poster included a pretty good video of what working with those bees is like. You’ll, also, read the description of my encounter with them and how I decided to destroy the hive.

Is there a way to get a non-Africanized nuc in Trinidad for you to start? I’ve kept bees for many years and I’d quickly be out of the hobby if I had to regularly deal with those hyper-mean bees. Not fun!

Thanks for the response Psyched123. Its the dominant strain in Trinidad so I really dont have a choice. Thanks for the heads up Re: Do I have a Hot hive as well as your description.

I recently attended a course and all the hives were African bees and they managed just fine.
Will keep posting to let you guys know how it worked out.

Thanks again.

1 Like

That,

I commend you for moving ahead n checking out Africanized n the Flow-hive. I live way North in the US near Seattle … none of those aggressive honey-makers here yet. But your n others experiences would be helpful n welcome should that happen in my life time.

I’ve worked with a few nasty ones thru the years but know they were African. That was back in the 1950’s n 60’s so way too early for them up here. Just bees that got out of bed on the wrong side I guess.

Good luck n keep us informed,

Gerald