Bee keeping in Thailand

I am currently waiting for my flow hive to arrive and before it does would like to try to source a Queen bee and get in contact with any other people who are currently producing honey or have hives in Thailand. I have no previous experience with bees and any help or recommendations on what species of bee and plants that they can feed on will be much appreciated. I live by the sea in Chumphon province in the Gulf of Thailand, and the weather here tends to be hot and wet and hot and dry. With temperatures rarely going below 23°C and humidity levels between fifty and a hundred percent.

1 Like

Hello
I also live in Thailand. I too would like to keep bees. Did you find a queen supplier?

Many thanks,

Nile

I haven’t managed to find a queen bee yet, but when I do I’ll let you know. Likewise please let me know if you find a queen bee.
Regards,
Justin.

I live in the Netherlands but have a house in Surin as well. I am a beginning beekeeper and will attend the beekeepers course in February. I did a lot of reading and found this thread: http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/148167-bee-keeping/

So in Khon Kaen you will find the Northeastern Beekeepers Association, they can provide complete hives and queens.

I understand that native Thai bees are smaller than the European ones. Do you think you need a smaller queen excluder as well? This to prevent your queen from laying eggs in the honey section.

You are probably dealing with Apis cerana. Or the asian honeybee they are fairly significantly smaller then european honey bees. Asian honeybee is on the left. My guess is you would need a specific queen excluder to account for their size.

Now I am from Cambodia, I am very interesting on it but I do know how to order?

Hi Nile,

You can go to the top of the page and click on the Honeyflow.com link and shop there.

Last I heard the orders being placed now are being filled in February.

Welcome!

Hi guys ,