Complete newby in Central Texas

My wife and I assembled our first flow hive this week. We don’t get our bees until the end of the first week in May. A bit of a late start from what I understand. But looking forward to the adventure.

We live just outside of Belton, TX.

Great to hear, recently let a couple daughters of my wife’s coworker 4-H club put 2 hives on my 20 acers. Getting close to retirement and we have both had an interest in getting bees on my land. Would like to keep in touch and see how it goes

I think @Martydallas is not too far from you, although he may be the other side of DFW. Hopefully he will chime in and can help with local bee clubs/mentors, should you need any. :wink:

1 Like

What can I help with? I just gave a talk at the Collin County be club Monday night. Basically a year in review and covered a lot of things I’ve learned and still learning. Talked for almost an hour and then had questions after getting offstage for the next hour after that. I guess I have learned a lot :slight_smile: really enjoy helping others. Being willing to learn and try new things is always a good thing in life.

Being a new beekeeper, be sure to move your NUC into your box, do not put your flow frames on top. The girls need to be busting at there seems an box number 1 before possibly putting another brood box on top. Now that’s going to be totally up to you in your area, most people in Texas run at least 2 brood boxes and one honey super which is your flow frames. So when you hear honey super just substitute in your mind flow frames.

Side note, my last day with my current firm will be tomorrow, Thursday resigned 2 weeks ago had issues here I did not care for. Had a number of job offers, for an old man I’m told that’s pretty good to still be wanted at this age :slight_smile:

Enjoy taking weekend motorcycle trips, so if I can be of help or suggest anything let me know.

2 Likes