Concerns about wind knocking over hive

Hello Everyone.

My understanding is that the bees will eventually seal up the hive using propolis and alleviate concerns about wind blowing over the hive, additionally, once the brood box/super are full of honey, they are less likely to move.

My question is this though… when I first put the bees in the hive, won’t the brood box be very loosely sitting on top of the bottom board? Should I be doing anything to secure the brood box to the bottom board to protect against the hive getting knocked over by high winds, at least until the brood box gets heavier and the bees have had enough time to seal it up with propolis? And… I assume I will run into the same problem when I add the super.

One more question: How long will it take for the bees to seal the hive with propolis?

I am new to beekeeping, my first batch of bees arrive in may, so, please forgive any ignorance on my part.

thanks,
Lorne

I just read this thread and most of my questions were answered…

http://forum.honeyflow.com/t/locking-the-hive-sections-together-with-cam-dowels/4805/9

I still worry about the hive falling over the first few days, I might use a strap or a couple bricks to weigh everything down until the bees have had a chance to seal everything up. Does anyone else do that?

Hi Lorne,

I can’t tell where in the world you are based, but do you frequently experience high winds? Most people put their hives on top of some sort of hive stand, and one convenient solution is to use cinder (cement) blocks like these:

As they have a hole through them, and they are pretty heavy, you can lay the block so that the holes are horizontal, then pass a ratcheting strap through the block and over the hive top, holding it all securely together.

1 Like

Bricks work well with a flat hive roof, but the flow roof is not flat. They may stay on, but I would worry about them jiggling off.

that makes sense. I already have plenty cinder blocks and straps. thanks!